A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Has anyone worked anywhere in ANY field where employees were told of impending layoffs? - I sure havent

Posted: Sep 03, 2010

I've been working since I was 15 years old in various fields and have witnessed many, many layoffs.  Although I have usually been in a position where I was privvy to the details of when the layoff would take place and who was on the list to be cut, I have NEVER worked anywhere where the employees to be laid off were given a heads-up beforehand.  Sure, rumors would circulate about the impending cuts, but I've never heard of employers actually warning an employee that they were to be cut and when.

Has anyone EVER been warned they are about to be cut? 

I would think warning an employee would be completely counterproductive, in that a disgruntled employee would be afforded the opportunity to sabotage any number of workings of the company, not to mention make life a living nightmare for those who were not to be cut.

So...serious question...Has anyone TRUTHFULLY ever worked somewhere where employees were warned in advance they would be laid off?  Not just that there was an impending layoff, but employee-specific communication?

OF COURSE! DHL, MOTOROLA, INTEL, - MICROSOFT, AND MORE.

[ In Reply To ..]
My husband has been warned in the past and was told of upcoming layoffs 2-5 months in advance. It is to prepare them for upcoming doctor visits for themselves and kids, future vacations, and for their mind, benefits, money, and soul.

When finally the day came, the people who were let go were given future training and one-on-one help for getting their resumes together and how to search for future jobs. Company helped employees with their 401k, benefits, COBRA plans, etc.

The way WMX handled it and not helping the employees, but only by getting a suit to come on this board for damage control is just, well..... UGLY!

Suits - Whateva

[ In Reply To ..]