A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Question before I bring this to TSM attention - sm

Posted: Jan 08, 2014

This is my first time posting, but I hope you can be of help.

Is the glucose in the CMP ever expressed as a decimal?  I have always thought it a whole number.  I left a blank after the glucose value where there  was a definite audio blip ending in "point 1."   I assumed this was the calcium value and doc cut the beginning off.  The account auto sends all blanks regardless of reason to QA. 

well - Old School

[ In Reply To ..]
No I don't think glucose is ever expressed as a decimel; yes, it probably was the calcium level or something else and what choice did you have but to leave a blank? However, why do you want to bring this up with your TSM? Also, if you're on fluency, remember to do Ctrl ; if you hear a skip. That turns off the accelerate silence playback and you can sometimes hear what you missed that way.

I want to bring it up because QA filled it in. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
They took the blank out, combining the glucose value and the partial dictated decimal value, making the glucose a decimal.

I don't want such an error on my report as this is a picky hospital.

You are never held responsible for what your QA person does - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I do understand you wanting to be correct and that's commendable but just rest assured that it will be very clear on an audit what was your work, and what was the QA person's work.

The TSM is not the person to speak to about that anyway - MME

[ In Reply To ..]
Anything quality or "content" related needs to be discussed with your QC, not TSM. The TSM's main responsibility is for work flow and staffing issues.

I'm not the OP but thank you for the tip - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
You taught an old(ish) dog a new trick today - thank you!

Regarding Ctrl ; - mt

[ In Reply To ..]
How do you reverse that then when you are done?