A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Skills rusty - where to focus review for job hunting? - Cleo

Posted: Dec 02, 2012

I graduated from M-Tec in Jan. 2011 while working a full-time job.  My plan was to keep working, get a part-time MT job until I gained experienced, and then quit my other job and do MT full time.  I sent out tons of resumes but received no replies except for one that expressed fear I would get burned out working 2 jobs.  After that I got discouraged and stopped looking for MT work for over a year.  

Now I'm newly motivated (hate my current job) and want to start looking again.  However, I've gotten very rusty and I'm afraid I wouldn't pass an employment test right now.  I know I need to review and practice first.  I have all my books & CDs, just not sure where to begin or where to focus my energy.  I've never taken an employment test so I don't know what it includes.  For example, is there a timed dictation, grammar & terminology quiz, etc.?  Any advice on where I should start reviewing?   

TIA

McDonalds - or Burger King

[ In Reply To ..]
Transcription is dying and pay is horrid and majority of dictators suck.

I get it - Cleo

[ In Reply To ..]
Have read all the negativity about MT being a dying field and not saying I disagree. However, I paid for the course and worked hard at it. I'd like to try and get something out of it. If MT dies completely, hopefully I'll have enough skills by then to transition into a related job.

If it was me, - I would just

[ In Reply To ..]
apply and take tests for companies that are "hiring" and see what happens. Start with the ones you are least interested in so you can at least see what MT Test is like... most of them use the same service although slightly different tests. Also, I assume most of it will be editing at this time, so don't expect much actual typing, as MT has pretty much been dead for a while, replaced by lower paying ME.