A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Job hunting question - madmamma

Posted: Jun 14, 2011

After filling out multiple forms, tests, etc...how long can one expect to wait to hear anything?  I would hope after doing this for 11 years that I would be a good fit for someone out there.  :(  I know it is pretty tight right now...I just wondered how long people have had to wait until they heard anything.  I know I saw some people on here saying they heard right away.  I am still doing more research, applications, etc...to get all over the place.  Thanks.

waiting... - jj

[ In Reply To ..]
I did the same thing. I have 12 years experience and thought I might be a good fit, but we really are competing for the same jobs and we are all well qualified. I was offered an employee position just last week after 3 weeks of searching...and this job I just accepted I applied for at least 2 weeks before. I had two job offers that were total low ballers. I couldn't believe one company offered 6 cpl because I wanted to work part time. That's penalizing those who can't work full time. Keep your head held high. Don't be surprised, though, if you get the offers coming in and you immediately turn them down. That seems to be the nature of the beast. After working for much more money and having to leave that ICMT job because of my husband's job transfer, 6-8 cpl is something I am having trouble swallowing. On top of that it is a lot of VR editing...not real excited, but there's not much left out there and after reading tons of posts here, our jobs are going to editing and they are slowly phasing out typing (which I absolutely love to do). GOOD LUCK in your job search. Something will come up soon.

I'm 61. I find that the older you are, the longer - you will wait. (2 yrs. and counting).

[ In Reply To ..]