A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Question on current price/line and more. - MontanaGal

Posted: Oct 11, 2010

My current account (hospital ER) is switching to a different system where I will connect via the internet and type live into their system. We have been on the PC Anywhere system for years. I have been charging .12/line gross line count. The new system will count 65 characters/line. I think I will need to charge more to keep my pay equal. With this account, I cover stats Mon through Fri with no extra charge. I have 12 years experience and re-read and verify to make everything as perfect as humanly possible.

To continue my current quality and service, I think I'm going to have to charge .16/line with the 65 character line count. Is that way out of line? I would rather one fee and not charge extra for the stats and faxes, etc.

I appreciate any input.

My two cents - oaf

[ In Reply To ..]
Be sure to clarify if the 65 cpl count is with or without spaces, etc. When you switch to character from gross it makes a HUGE difference. Do they realize you will have to change your rates? I would just take a document and figure it out divided by 65 (with or without spaces depending on what they want) and see how much you would need to charge to continue your current income. I wish you luck! I know when I had to make the change I lost money - but I was an employee and not an IC at the time.

You will have to totally renegiotiate your contract - see message

[ In Reply To ..]
regarding line count, cpl, etc. Like the other poster said, do a comparison of gross line versus 65 char with spaces and 65 char without spaces. Need to determine exactly how the lines are counted with the new system and go from there.

Good luck on that.... just lost an account - sm - ITKMT

[ In Reply To ..]