A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Tips on how to land a job that requires experience? Have you ever... - anon

Posted: Jan 21, 2011

landed a job that required experience that you did not have? I am getting so very frustrated. I have a job now that covers maybe a week and a half of groceries every month. I am pretty new to this field, but due to a ridiculously long college program, I have studied for well over a year and I know my stuff. I test very well and I know what I am doing. All I want at this point is a job with work available, but all of the decent deals seem to require experience. I just need some way around this. I have tried applying wherever I could that would let me take a test right away, but there aren't many companies like that from what I have seen. You know, I would even gladly accept 6 cpl at this point, I just need the WORK to do!

experience can be had in-house before working at home, think that is what they want. - good luck! NM

[ In Reply To ..]

I can't do that though... - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I have a little one at home. I just keep thinking there has got to be some other way! I have the skills and I can do the work just as well as anyone else!

I can't do that though - why not?

[ In Reply To ..]
There are millions of moms that go to work outside of their house every day. If that is what it takes to ultimately get you the experience you need to stay at home, then you have to bite the bullet and do it. Years ago there were hardly any at home transcription jobs, most were done on-site by mothers who had to leave their little ones and go to work each day.
I was about to post the same comment about - working outside the SM
[ In Reply To ..]