A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Any tips about Proofreading - Maple Grandma

Posted: Jul 26, 2010

Any tips about proofreading? I am an MT intern consistently getting high 90s for grades in Acute Care but 99% is required to pass the program.   Tps for perfecting MT proofreading would be appreciated. I seem to make dumb mistakes and just  don't see them when I proofread.   Maple Grandma

proofing - MT67

[ In Reply To ..]
What worked for me is reading the report backwards, the words is what I mean. I used to do each paragraph that way to teach myself to proof. So type one paragraph or heading (whatever works for you) and then read it from the bottom up, then read it out loud to yourself top down. You'll see the same little errors probably and can make yourself more aware of them as you go and eventually progress to typing and proofing as you go each sentence. It takes time, but you'll find your own way!

Similar Messages:

Why Proofreading Is Important
Aug 22, 2012

I just saw this sentence in a job posting on another MT site: I am looking specifically for someone for weekends first not weekdays, please do not reply if you are willing to work weekends.   ...

Programs Out There To Do The Proofreading For You
Jun 02, 2014

I have a doc I do IC for who thinks there are programs out there to do the proofreading for you.  Considering what he pays for what I am expected to do I wish he was right, but I have never heard of such a thing.  Anyone out there have any idea? ...

Proofreading & Editing Chart Notes
Apr 09, 2010

Does anyone know what a fair charge is for proofreading and editing chart notes (ortho) that are done in the Dragon Naturally Speaking platform?  Is it best to charge by the line, word or the page?  Any answers would be greatly appreciated! ...

Tips
Mar 23, 2010