A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

anyone out there in MT land with a back problem - Liz

Posted: Mar 22, 2011

Anyone out there have any back problems and have found the perfect chair or cushion or back support that helps you with comfort while sitting at the computer all day.  Looking for some references.

Upper or Lower Back? - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
I tend to have upper back problems, and I found that simple stretching helps and also making sure I don't twist "funny" when reaching for books, etc. For lower back, I have an inexpensive lumbar pillow for when I need it.

lower back - Liz

[ In Reply To ..]
I had surgery a few years back but still have some issues with disks and pinching a nerve from time to time. Sitting is the worst and though it does not hurt to sit, I can hardly straigtened up afterward. I was looking for something that would take pressure off my left side while sitting. I am using a memory pillow but it does not help that much.

maybe you could try - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
one of those hernia donut things, or a yoga ball.

I have asked my husband to take the airbag out of the steering column and rig it up for me to use to sit on. Like a sleep number bed for my chair. Then you could adjust the firmness. HMMMM... maybe I should get a patent for that. :)

I use a heating pad daily on my lower back to keep my muscles from spasming.

Tried a Serta chair this time. Everything still hurts... - back, neck, wrist, hips,

[ In Reply To ..]
Days are sure long now.

If you are having muscle spasms this will stop them (sm) - Yochana

[ In Reply To ..]
http://www.magneticclay.com/store/magnesium-oil-ancient-minerals-8.aspx