A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How many hours a week for courses? - EBB

Posted: Dec 20, 2011

Hi.  I'm wondering for those of you who either attend/attended M-Tec or Andrews, about how many hours per week do you spend on the classes (total, including all studying)?  M-Tec's website says 25-30 hours.  Do you find this to be accurate?  I did not see an answer on the Andrews website.  I want to be sure before I commit that I have the necessary time to spend on the course.  While I'm willing to put 30 hours in, I do not want to find out that in reality, it takes 35 or 40 a week.  I am not at that point in my life at this time, with two small children.  Thanks in advance!

I went to Andrews in 2005...sm - wasHappyMt

[ In Reply To ..]
at that time my daughter was about
1-1/2-years old. I studied during nap times and after she went to bed for the night, so probably about 5 hours a day, give or take. Linda gives you a year to finish the course. I finished in 9 months. I pretty much treated it like a job during that time, as I was ready to be done and get to work. It all depends how quickly you want to get to work. I cannot say enough good things about Andrews. It really does get you ready for a transcription career. I had no problem finding a job immediately after graduation. Then after working for only 4 months, I decided to stop working because the company I was with back then was only paying 7 cpl, and I was part-time, and I was paying someone to come stay with my daughter while I worked. So, I was just breaking even. After not transcribing for 4 years, I started back in 11/2010, and was again immediately hired by a company due to my excellent training at Andrews. When I decided to look elsewhere after my company was bought out in 10/2011, I tested with 2 companies and was offered a job with both. Again, I believe, due to my Andrews training. So, you really cannot go wrong there. Worth every penny of the tuition. Do no