A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

RHIT courses/certification - Laree

Posted: Jul 06, 2011

Hi, I was wondering if anyone in the Chicago area would care to comment on the RHIT associates degree course at College of DuPage?  Does it prepare  you well for the RHIT certification exam?  Is it a good preparation for the RHIA program you later pursued (I am thinking of University of Illinois-Chicago)?  I am an 18-year transcription veteran hoping to become a coder and then possibly a Direction of HIM eventually.  ANY help would be much appreciated!  Thanks in Advance!

My opinion - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I don't know anything about the College of DuPage but it is listed on the CAHIIM website as an accredited school for the RHIT program. I would only attend a school that is accredited on the CAHIIM site. Also, University of Illinois-Chicago is a good school for the RHIA program. I am looking at attending this school when I finish my Associate's Degree as it is all online and this is an excellent college.

RHIT/RHIA colleges - Laree

[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks for your reply. I appreciate hearing from you about U of I-Chicago. From what I can tell its RHIA program is great, and I like that it is online if you have your RHIT. I think I will pursue this through College of DuPage since it is very close to my home and then transfer to U of I-Chicago to finish the RHIA later. It's a big undertaking but should be worth it later on when done! Thanks again.

The main thing to consider . . . - sm

[ In Reply To ..]