A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Graduate w/some experience - Hopeful MT

Posted: Jan 23, 2012

I am posting because I have spent the past few days reading so many negative things on this board and a few positive things, but am very discouraged about MTing. 

My position is that I have graduated from a school (Career Step) that is accredited and one of the "top 3" I BELIEVE, but am not really sure now (can anyone tell me who those "3" are?). I graduated, but not with honors or high honors, Within one month, I got a wonderful job right out of the gate at a local doctor's office. I had the job for 9 months and was so gloriously happy with all the knowledge I was gaining and being able to work from home, etc. I loved it. I was learning so much and was getting experience in nursing home care, as well as clinical/office visits, workmen's compensation and no fault MVA's. I found it really fascinating. I often giggled at each doctor's "quirks", as well as ripped my hair out with ESL's that were difficult. But I still liked them and had a nice relationship with them. Like anything, there were good days and bad days.

I did not know that this office was looking into VR before they hired me and was later told they made they decision to go with Dragon and just really needed me to clean up their backlog. While finishing up the job, I noticed that many Dragon reports had many errors and I offered to stay on to help edit them. They were not interested. I am now looking for work but am truly disenchanted and gun-shy with the state of affairs and all the negativity I am hearing about MTSO's and how little they are paying. Also, hearing about, India, Epic and such. When studying, I was assured over and over again that this industry would always be needed and it may change but we could adapt and change with it.