A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

New MT graduate needs advice HELP - Maggie

Posted: Nov 28, 2012

I am frustrated at finding employement. I am a recent graduate from Career Steps and I do not know which way to turn. I have spent hours trying to find full-time, part-time employee or independent contractor positions. One company offers a mentoring program, which is more money. Does anyone have advice on these mentoring programs. Any advice on where to go from here would be so appreciated. I am employeed at a hospital currently(have been there 10 years), so I am dependable and loyal. Thanks in advance.

Obtain additional education - me

[ In Reply To ..]
Career Step is not a good program. I too went to a less than desired program, and I ended up repeating everything at the local community college, which had an excellent program. I have more work on my desk than you can imagine.

If your local college does not have a course, others on this board recommend 2 online schools. Go to the new MT board. I would also go to the local AHDI chapter meetings, where members who have their own accounts would hire you. A lot of members are now retiring and could possibly give you your own account, which I had a lot of offers through my chapter.

Good luck. It is tough out there from what I read on this board.

Contact Career Step counselors - CS_MT

[ In Reply To ..]
I am not sure a blanket statement that Career Step is not a good program is entirely accurate advice if it is from somebody who did not attend Career Step and, therefore, isn't able to speak firsthand about the program.

I graduated from Career Step in 2008 with High Honors and passed both the RMT and then the CMT in 2012.