Home     Contact Us    
Main Board Job Seeker's Board Job Wanted Board Resume Bank Company Board Word Help M*Modal Nuance New MTs Classifieds Offshore Concerns VR/Speech Recognition Tech Help Coding/Medical Billing
Gab Board Politics Comedy Stop Games Faith Board Prayer Requests Health Issues

ADVERTISEMENT

Main Board

Same here - Got out

Posted: Sep 26th, 2023 - 7:05 pm In Reply to: There is life after MT'ing - Let go MT

I worked full-time as an MT for 21 years and finally realized that I needed to get out at the end of last year. I landed a great full-time job with a very large EMR company, still working remotely from home. I was started at a base of $25/hour, but since I work second shift, I get a shift differential of $2 more per hour, putting me at $27/hour. I have a full health insurance package, company matched 401k, life insurance, tons of perks (including a 20% per month corporate discount on my wireless service), generous PTO, personal floating holidays, and I have every weekend and holiday off, with holidays all being paid. We get annual bonuses and raises and there is significant room for advancement. I hated to leave MT, but it was no longer stable or reliable. I was constantly running out of work, bouncing from one bad company to another, dealing with insulting pay, lost accounts, etc. Enough was enough. MT was all that I knew for over 2 decades, so making the transition to another career path was a bit intimidating, but the fact that I'm still working from home made the transition a bit less daunting. I love working my 8 hours and being done. No more banging the keys for 12-15 hours a day just to try to break minimum wage! I now know exactly how much my paychecks will be every 2 weeks. I finally have a work/life balance that I haven't had in many years.