A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

RMT study guide - mistakes in answer key - Thornbush

Posted: Jan 26, 2013

Hello,

I am a fresh graduate from MTEC . I am currently preparing for AHDI's RMT exam. I bought the study bundle which consists of the RMT exam guide and an audio CD. Al in all, I have learned a great deal from the study guide... but... yes, there's always a BUT...

While reviewing the entire RMT exam guide, I noticed some blatant mistakes as well as unclear questions. One example is a mixup between "affect" vs. "effect". The RMT study guide's answer key states that "effect" is a verb, when it is actually a noun! What's more, is that there are many websites that state DIFFERENT normal lab values for AST, yet AHDI's RMT study guide mentiones that the normal value is 3 U/L. The only website that mentions a normal value of AST being 3 U/L is Benchmark KB. Other websites state that it's 5-35, 8-20 or 10-34... WHICH ONE IS IT??

Also, regarding Tanner staging - the study guide states that it is expressed in Arabic numerals. Yet after researching 3 credible websites, they state that Tanner staging is expressed in ROMAN numerals! I'm now utterly confused as to which number expression is correct.

I got so fed up with finding the above-mentioned errors on the study guide while checking myself, that I was compelled to contact AHDI and notify them of these.

I cannot believe that AHDI has such a credible reputation, yet their RMT study guide is filled with errors! How am I supposed to take the RMT exam seriously if AHDI cannot take itself seriously by proofreading for errors before printing the study guides?

Thanks.

Well, nobody else takes it seriously - But, "effect" can be a verb

[ In Reply To ..]
Effect can be a verb. One effects a change in something, for instance. "John effected a change in his blood sugar by eating too many cheese puffs . . . "