A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Coding study on one's own - Locust55

Posted: Apr 25, 2010

I'd like to begin studying medical coding on my own to see if it it's a match iin terms of learning and liking the field. I have 30+ years of transcription experience and usually learn fairly quickly.

What books/workbooks do you suggest as a start to see if this feels like it will work for me? And for people who have done this on your own, what did you include in a program of study for yourself? Are there some areas that you feel an in-house course is needed?  Replies greatly appreciated.

Coding study on one's own - Anonymous

[ In Reply To ..]
Isn't that a bit like self-taught dentistry?

Learning coding on your own - Locust55

[ In Reply To ..]
Some posters on here that I respect said that is how they learned.

Learning on your own - Anonymous

[ In Reply To ..]
The people who are self taught have a lot of self-discipline and I would think must have had a mentor, coding seems pretty complex. I had started to learn a long time ago when I was an MT in a hospital with the help of their staff and I remember them checking everything I did. Unfortunately I put that on the back burner and pursued transcription instead. Without formal training, it might be more difficult to be hired as a new coder, I think employers look for education these days. I didn't mean to sound sarcastic, I only know it wouldn't work for me. I don't know what books others used when they trained but on the AHIMA web site under "coding basics" there is a list of the books they recommend. Good luck and best wishes.
Lots of great info on this on the MT Stars coding/billing - forum. nm
[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Similar Messages:

DVT Study
Dec 27, 2011

In a DVT study, "Findings are most suggestive of chronic or past/passed?? clot" Thanks!! ...

Study Should Be Done
Jan 27, 2012