A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I sure wish I knew what it is I'm dong wrong!!!!!!! - Job Huntress

Posted: Jun 26, 2012

I've been applying only to in house positions for hospitals and clinics.  I refuse to work for any more MTSOs. 

The job ads that occasionally come up that are close enough to commute to are few and far between.  In the last 4 years I've applied to quite a few of them, 3 since January this year.

It's always the same old story:  "The job is filled" is what I'm always told.  Even for those 3 that granted me in-person interviews this year, it's always a rejection email I get, never an offer.  I've politely responded and asked if I could have some feedback on what skills or experience they'd like to see, so I can do better on my next try at landing a job.  But of course, that's always some Great Big Secret.

All 3 jobs this year were for a specialty I have almost 30 years' experience in.  PLUS I can do most other specialties, as well.  I'm currently employed.  In 2 cases I lived about 60 miles from the job, in the third case I lived only 7 miles away.  I went all-out for the interview in terms of my appearance, and I look roughly 10-15 years younger than my chronological age.  I'm extremely flexible about hours/days worked.  I'm very healthy.  To the best of my knowledge, I was charming and personable in the interview.  There are some questions I could've answered better, one typing test where I was a little slow (had problems with the weird keyboard on the hospital's PC), but that aside, had they hired me, they would've gotten someone who plans to work at LEAST another 15-20 years, would have appreciated the job and worked my butt off for them, and done my level best to be an asset to their organization.