A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

What am I doing wrong? - MTC

Posted: Dec 28, 2013

Hello,

Let me start by telling my fellow MTs what I am doing. Please point me in right direction, because I can't figure out where I have gone wrong.

My job is ending as the small company I work for doesn't have enough work.  I don't have unemployment as a backup since I have been subcontracting clinic work for the past 4 years. This has been my only MT job. I am limited on what I have applied for because I have no acute care experience, only clinic transcription. 

I applied at MModal, Nuance, and a few others. I have even applied as a new MT because I am willing to start over just to "land" a job while I get through my medical coding class. My heart is in MT, but I am looking into coding because there are no MT jobs, or at least this is my experience...I would glady stay as a MT because I still love it. My husband works nights. I know if I take a job outside the home, I would never see him. I also know it would be difficult to work outside the home, but not impossible, while I completed my coding class. 

I have an associates degree, but know companies don't care about that. They just want experienced MTs. Should I be listing associates degree and the certificates I have earned or just transcription experience? Also, should I be applying as a new MT. Again, no acute care experience and I'm not a new grad. I answer both those questions honestly and can't get a job to save my soul for that very reason.

I see many MTs leaving one job for another, and/or working 2 jobs because they have to while they look for greener pastures. Please point my in the right direction on where to find a job, because this tunnell I seem to be stuck in is going nowhere. I'm afraid I will end up losing my edge in this business. Any helpful advice you have for me is much appreciated. Please, no bashing because I feel down enough about having no job.