A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I emailed my resume to a company advertising for VR editor... - SM

Posted: Sep 03, 2010

I have 17 years experience in medical transcription with half of those years doing QA and the last four years doing VR for a hospital and I get an email back from the company saying they don't have any positions that would meet my criteria?!?!?!

I have a FT job and I was looking to supplement my income, get ahead start for the holiday season, ya know and I'm told that a 17-year MT veteran doesn't fit into any of their positions?

I am confused.  Do companies want to higher the less experienced so they can pay less?  I think yes.  Medical transcription is the only career field I have ever heard of where the more experience you have, the less chance you have at getting a job!

I've sent out resumes to probably about five different companies in the last month and received no responses except for the one I mention and they didn't even want to test me.  I know having 17 years experience doesn't necessarily mean I'm good at my job, but you'd think 17 years experience would at least get me to the testing process where I can prove myself, but no!  I can't even get that far.  It's ridiculous!

Your response mightve been different if your - email had come from India...... (n/m)

[ In Reply To ..]

That's what I was thinking... - VetMT

[ In Reply To ..]
x

Sounds like you are looking for a temporary PT job? - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I don't know what you put in application/cover letter to the companies, but from what you write here, it sounds like you already have a FT job and are just looking for a temporary supplemental job. I would think that right there is the problem. Seems a company would rather hire someone looking for a FT longterm job vs. someone who is going to quit in just a few months.

I didn't put that I wanted to supplement my income in my - SM

[ In Reply To ..]