A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Disappointing offer-sm - Connie

Posted: Apr 11, 2012

I lost my job a few months ago.  I started applying, testing, waiting to hear from companies.  I did get hired this week part-time for VRE work and it pays peanuts.  A second company was interested in me and I went through testing, filling out tons of paperwork, phone calls and waiting.  They offered me a job as an MT and also VRE.  The offer is so disappointing!  I have a lot of experience but that does not seem to count for anything with them.  The wages are similar to what I was making 20 years ago.  It is days but they wanted me to work one day of the weekend and I felt that I "should" do that fearing that they would not even offer me a job if I dare to say no.  I'm really depressed right now.  I feel stuck.  There are few jobs out there that pay decent line rates but my gut tells me this company is not for me.  I feel like they are gaining an experienced MT and I am going to work for very little.  What should I do....try to negotiate or just say no thanks, or get off my high horse and just sign on the dotted line?  I could use some advice right now.  Thanks.

It is what it is! And it sucks out there! Sorry! - oaf

[ In Reply To ..]
Hang in there! But if you are young enough I would definitely make a change in profession - I'm nearing 60 and it is a swamp out there!! I've applied at all the local stores, etc and no one even calls for those entry level jobs....

Without being nosey, but in an effort to offer - good advice, may I ask

[ In Reply To ..]
What they are offering you? Pay rates in the industry range from 4 to 6cpl. Very few companies actually pay 6cpl, but the ones that do only give it to the long-time experienced, good MTs.

Some will higher you on and progress you to maybe 5cpl. So I would ask them about negotiating and the chances for getting an increase.