A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Are any of you afraid to go out into the real world again? - LRL

Posted: Feb 04, 2012

After my company recently dropped my account by 1-1/2 cents, I have been considering either a job switch or maybe even an inhouse hospital position but the thought of it puts me in a panic.  Has anyone else experienced that? 

I have been doing this job at home for 20 years and one of the reasons I love it is I don't have to deal with the politics of a work place or people in general.  I was a vet tech before an MT so obviously I love animals and prefer being with my animals at home during the day than people.  But I am feeling awful cuz I have really become fearful of even attempting to go out there.  I have friends and I go out a lot in that respect but when it comes to a work environment I am terrified.  Anyone else feel the same or has overcome it?  

Yes - Stuck

[ In Reply To ..]
Since I have been an MT I have lost my car and could not afford to replace it and experienced some very serious medical issues which nearly cost me my life. Now I am afraid to be too far from a bathroom, my feet hurt constantly so can't tolerate being on them long hours for a job and I have no transportion. I feel stuck. I cannot think of any other options.

I am absolutely terrified to leave my house - and dont know why

[ In Reply To ..]
I feel anxious, scared, overwhelmed, and just completely lost. I want to go out and find another job, but I cant. I dont know how to talk to people. I only feel comfortable here.

I dont want to work at home anymore, however.

I am stuck and terrified.

Absolutely. Could not work outside the home - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
at this time. Don't know why. That is why I am so broke sticking with this career. It is like an addiction.

I suspect this could be considered a work disability. - Various government entities may

[ In Reply To ..]