A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

survey: How do you proof your work - soofie

Posted: Nov 08, 2011

My manager (not an MT) is challenging me on the method I proof my work.

How do you proof?

a: listening to the audio at a higher speed while you review and correct the text on the screen?

b: print out on paper, read, and then correct on the computer?

c: read the screen with no audio and correct as you go?

I assume you mean VR/ASR... - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
I've been editing VR for about 10 years (out of 20+ transcribing). I've never heard of B and C. I do it A (which is also the way the companies who actually created VR programs, Dictaphone for example, personally came in and trained us). Of course, however, some doctors you can't listen to at a higher speed if they're bad dictators and/or speech gets every other word wrong.

I do straight typing from voice files - BB

[ In Reply To ..]
C.

After transcribing, I go back and read over what I have typed, without listening again. Depending on the length of the report, I do it either at the end or section by section.

I am looking for typos and grammar. I do not listen to the dictation again to make sure I got every actual word correct. I am sure enough of my listening skills that I am not going to do it twice.

However, I don't have anyone coming behind me and listening to that dictation and reading my report to make sure I did it correctly. If I have transcribed it and there are no flags, my boss sends it on to the client.

I am my own QA, other than the dictator him/herself, and that is how I proof/QA my work.

Usually C - ozmt

[ In Reply To ..]
For most of my accounts I can proof as I go. For some dictators I will proofread the entire letter. I do go back and listen to any flagged areas a couple of times before sending to QA and will vary the speed as sometimes going faster or slower than I originally transcribed at means I can pick up the blanked word/s.