A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Need to scream and vent and then ask ... (sm) - anon

Posted: Jan 06, 2011

I have been a MT for over 23 years and have always received praise regarding the work that I produce.  Grant you, I am not a CMT and I definitely do not have the "know" that a lot of MTs have but still, as I said, I have held MANY jobs in this industry and have never had any complaints.

Within the last two weeks I have tested for two different companies, most recent Probity, on MTtest and have FAILED both!!  With Probity I never made it to the transcription portion of the test before failing and then being offered the BS about Career Step.  With the other test I made it all the way through only to be told that my experience did not meet what they were looking for at that time.  Again, I have over 23 years experience with approximately 18 years clinical and 15 years acute care.  WHAT ARE THESE PEOPLE LOOKING FOR???!!!!????!!!!???  I took my time through the test for Probity and there was only ONE question that I doubted myself on ... I was supposed to pick the misspelled word in this sentence, "There was no ulnar angulation at the fracture site."  Seriously, that is it.  Am I nuts or is everything in that sentence spelled correctly?

It is freaking amazing at the hoops that we have to jump through in order to take a job these days that is paying at or less than minimum wage in most states.  I am absolutely sick of this BS!!! I hope that these companies that expect us to work for virtually nothing get what is coming to them, and that is putting what I mean extremely nicely.

Taking a deep breath now and calming down.  Hopefully it was a sign that I was not supposed to work for Probity or the other company.  Any way, I will continue to look and in the meantime, I want to wish every MT who reads this post the absolute best and here are hopes that things in this industry WILL turn around one day very soon!