A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

charge for invoice prep - elonmt

Posted: Jan 01, 2011

I am an IC. Just told must invoice company I have been with for 5 years, with lines per day, cpl, etc. Do I charge for this and if so how much? Never had to do this before.

charge for invoice - 1mt

[ In Reply To ..]
Kind of sounds like my situation. I work as an IC, worked for one MTSO for about 9 yrs and then they told me I had to start invoicing. I also invoice a 2nd MTSO.
Do not charge for either; basically just sending them a bill.

As above, you are just sending a bill - sm - ECMT

[ In Reply To ..]
If you start charging for bill processing I predict you will not have that IC position for long. No one charges to send a bill, late payment yes, but not for actually billing the client what is due to yourself for the work done. I bill my two IC accounts every two weeks, one is detailed with all the work done (all jobs listed), the other is just a total due. If you do not have a any line counting software I recommend Abacus, but there are others out there and some are free, just less options on those versions of course.

Thanks for the help. - elonmt

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Please learn what being an IC means - mtxo

[ In Reply To ..]
If you're an IC and you have been for 5 years, you should already realize that all along you should have been invoicing for your lines. If you are an IC, it means you are a small business owner. As such, you perform a service and then you bill for those services. You would not charge to bill someone, that's not even sensible.

You also should have provided THEM with a contract to your standards (even if all you do is take their contract and make it your own).

Do you have terms spelled out as to how you bill THEM? As to how often? How about how much notice is needed for you or them to terminate your services?