A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

CPC review/prep book recommendations please - mt2coder

Posted: Jan 25, 2013

I am currently a coding student, but worked as a transcriptionist for 13+ years. I am getting an associates degree and plan to graduate in the spring next year. What review or exam prep books will help prepare me for the CPC exam? Thanks in advance

Information - Tilly

[ In Reply To ..]
I was told by one of the local chapter members for the AAPC that there are some great exam prep books on the AAPC web site. I just finished my coding course and will be getting those books very, very soon. Good luck! :)

Thanks - Mt2coder

[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks that info. I would love to hear about what book you get and if it helped prepare you for the exam. Good luck!

AAPC has a review book, AAPC has review classes - The test itself is the best review!

[ In Reply To ..]
AAPC has a review book and the local chapters usually offer reviews. An AAPC-certified instructor usually does them. They're usually worth the price.

However, you do get 1 free retake with the exam. Considering that, you should treat the exam as if it were a review. Just take it to see what happens. Don't spend a lot of time "reviewing" and "studying" for the exam.

Just register for the first sitting in your area and then review until then. When it's time to take the test, just take it.

If you pass, great! You've saved a lot of money! If you fail, you'll know exactly where you went wrong and what you need to review. You can develop a review plan based on that, then take the exam again at no extra charge within a year.

Seriously, a lot of students delay, delay, and delay for no good reason. They get stressed out thinking about how awful it is and how perfect they need to be.