A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

New graduate March 2013 and unable to find a MT job - fox

Posted: Aug 24, 2013

I would like to know how anyone who graduates from Career Step and can not find a job for a MT...I am a graduate of March this year however not with honors. But still every job I have read you need three years experience or more. Very upset all the money put out for extensions, etc and it was a waste of life and time.. Any suggestions on places who give graduates a chance??

you have to apply, whether they say expeirenced wanted or not - show um what you got

[ In Reply To ..]
That is all you can do. Sometimes they will take a chance, sometimes not.

Regardless, I'm sorry to say, it was still a waste of life and time because there is no money in MT anymore. Its minimum wage mostly for average MTs, so I can't imagine newbies making even that.

I do hope you find something, but I hope you look outside of MT-ing as its your best chance to get ahead.

I agree with the other poster....I really can't - Kiki

[ In Reply To ..]
believe what they (MT schools) must be telling their students...they simply must be lying. This is NOT a good field to get into now. I have almost 14 years' experience and got laid off, and unfortunately I am only one of many MTs who have or are in jeopardy of being. Work is being off-shored to places like India because companies are GREEDY. The don't want to pay American MTs 7-9 cents a line when they can pay the Indians 2-3.

I know it must be frustrating for you having spent time/money on the schooling. I despise those schools because they obviously just want to make money off people who don't yet realize this has become a dying field.

I hope you are young enough that you can go in another direction if transcription doesn't work out.