A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Anyone a Graduate of M-TEC training program or, know anyone? - Becker

Posted: Jan 05, 2010

I'm researching MT training programs & M-TEC seems to be the most recommended & credible, so far.  However, the price is over double the others, I suppose for good reason.

Anyone trained w/M-TEC or, have any advice on training programs? 

M-TEC, Andrews & Career Step keep popping up.

thx so much.

Not a graduate yet but I am a student. - Typin_away

[ In Reply To ..]
I am a student at MTEC. When I was researching schools I looked really carefully at the programs. For me it was between Andrews and MTEC because Career Step does not have an instructor or online classes and the fact that I saw so many Career Step students were not getting jobs.

MTEC shortened there program to 9 months which is probably doable if you work full time at it. If you can't put forth 35 hours a week on school then I would suggest Andrews to you.

M-Tec - ggmt

[ In Reply To ..]
I finished M-Tec a few months ago. It was absolute junk. The course was based on disks and the keys were often outdated or incorrect. I was finding errors on the answer keys daily. My teacher would take 2-6 weeks to answer a single email. Some students on the M-Tec forums recently reported that they had 98% overall grades but got really horrible grades on their final, and were even told they were nowhere near ready to apply for jobs.

Once I graduated I discovered their claimed 98% placement rate was a lie. Their job board is called a "career opportunity council" but it's just a list of employers who might let you test. My experience is that most of these companies went out of business years ago or don't want newbies even if they DID graduate.

M-Tec says that the 2 years' experience is often waived if you have a degree, but that's not true. Ask around here on MTStars, they'll confirm that.