A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

MTing in an RV on the road - AB

Posted: Mar 18, 2011

I'm interested in chatting with anyone who might be doing MT work on the road in an RV or motorhome.  This might be in my future soon and I am curious about the logistics of this.  I've been working at home for 19 years so would love to keep this great job while seeing some sights in the USA and still working.

Please get in touch if you have any information!

Thanks

I would recommend... - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
using Verizon MiFi for your internet. It's not Wi-Fi, it's MiFi. It's kind of new and it is a wireless modem you plug into your laptop and it goes off of the cell phone towers. It is as secure as DSL. My local hospital uses this internet service and now I use it. You can go anywhere with it and it is way better than wireless internet as I have never lost my connection with it.

This is good advice, but the service is not - new by any means, and

[ In Reply To ..]
you can get similar service from several cell-phone carriers, not just Verizon

I also use Verizon to transcribe when I travel - Polly

[ In Reply To ..]
As the above poster said it a secure internet connection. I've had an external modem from Verizon for 3 years and use it when traveling because the Wifi at hotels is not secure. The modem has its own number, just like a cell phone. Mine costs $39.99 a month for basic service, and I have never exceeded that except one time when I downloaded a lot of updates from the net (oy) and it cost me another $15. So I always make sure to download security updates, etc. from home before I leave. As another poster said the concept is not new and I know ATT for sure provides the same kind of service and probably others do as well. I have also heard of tethering the internet connection to your cell phone which would also be secure. Good luck on the RV adventure!

RVing - AB

[ In Reply To ..]