A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Does anyone do family practice? - FPgirl

Posted: Apr 30, 2011

I have been doing transcription for about 7 years now, but almost all of that has been doing family practice work in SOAP note fashion.  When I first graduated I briefly did some work doing OP, H&P, discharges, et cetera.  I only did that for a short time and then started working at my current job. I have been with this small MTSO for 6 years doing family practice. I also did some letters and SOAP notes for peds endo for a while while doing the family practice. Anyway, over the last year or so I have lost a lot of my docs to EMR. My work load is very small and I have been searching for a part time (or even full time) job doing family practice notes to help my income. Does anyone know of a company that is doing family practice? Everyone seems to be hiring for hospital work or other specialties. I would even be happy finding someone that has overflow and needs help with letters or notes, but I just cant seem to find any companies around for that.

Anyone have any ideas of where to look? Thank you so much for any help or options!! :)

FPgirl, as you report yourself, demand for - your very narrow niche is disappearing.

[ In Reply To ..]
Unless you simply intend to ride it to the end then leave the field, it's extremely important that you move to a position that will broaden your skills. This is just about the end of this particular road.

You might somehow also hang on for more years by contracting directly to older physicians who refuse to change their methods. Maybe. Please note that new federal regulations will require even them to have their systems fully computerized very shortly and that soap-type notes are, relatively speaking, very easy to input directly.

In any case, since you ask, hopefully someone will answer your question with the name of a company, or perhaps an IC you could sub to, that still has some FP.