A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Do you think that as the economy improves that industry wide salaries will begin to improve? - Pumpkins

Posted: Sep 22, 2010

I know and accept the fact (albeit grudgingly) that ASR and offshoring are the wave of the future, but do you think that as the economy improves that things will cycle and what we do will once again become valued with the recognition of our value being reflected in higher salaries?  Or do you think that the unhappy reality is that regardless of the economy salaries will either remain stagnant or continue to trend downward?

Thanks in advance for your input.

No. The salaries were the same as they are - now before the economy tanked.

[ In Reply To ..]
z

Economy - Grandy

[ In Reply To ..]
I do not. I have been doing this for 12 years, and it has only gotten worse; companies want more work for less money, and it is difficult to even make minimum wage, at least for the company I work for.

We really should be more worried about the wealthy classes. What are they - Anon.

[ In Reply To ..]
going to do if we don't extend their special tax break? After all, when we work so hard to earn $30K, I just can't imagine how they must slave to earn the tens and hundreds of millions of dollars that accrue to them. As one of our elected national leaders said just last week, the wealthy have suffered more than anyone from this recession. It's just not fair.

absolutely not - pumpernickel

[ In Reply To ..]