A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Using VR to improve pay..question - me

Posted: Nov 14, 2010

Does anyone know if it is possible to just play the dictation out loud on your computer and use VR software to transcribe it for you, and edit it as it goes along? I feel that if it were that simple, more people would be doing it.....

cannot be done sm - Snow Bunny

[ In Reply To ..]
The voice engine in VR has to be trained to recognize the dictator's voice. Without that, you're trying to fit the car key from a Chevy into a Ford.

another way... - horseonamattress

[ In Reply To ..]
... SB is right, it won't work that way; however, there's another way: Google "echo dictation." I've tried it; it works pretty well, once you get your personal VR software thoroughly trained.

Redictating does work well - JLH

[ In Reply To ..]
I have been redictating everything for 6 months now. It's getting better all the time, and I'm still using Dragon 9.5. The newer version is even faster. My last QA was 99.94%. Once you develop your technique for being able to proof your work as it prints out, you can begin making the kind of money we all used to make doing this work. If you work on VR, you can take those reports that you know are typically productive to edit and redictate everything else. In fact, I think this is the only way to go if you're using M-Modal, as that's the worst platform there is. It's terribly unpredictable and tends to get worse as the day goes on.