A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

MT rates - Am I charging enough? - WsWhiting

Posted: May 14, 2011

I've been charging 13 cents a line for a 55 character line since 1989.  Have rates gone up?  I've been hiding out in my cave for a number of years now just doing my own thing and have not kept track of market trends.  Please let me know!  Thanks.

That's high! - Opinionated

[ In Reply To ..]
Well I suppose it depends on which part of the country you're in, but everyone I know charges about .10 for a 65-character line.

That's not high. What we're making is too LOW! - nm

[ In Reply To ..]

RELATIVELY high. Compared w/ market. nm - Opinionated

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Not high for an IC - mt3

[ In Reply To ..]
To the OP: Don't rock your boat, you might find it sinks! If you're still getting 13 cpl then you're doing okay.

To WsWhiting- If you have friends who are MTSOs and are only charging 10 cpl, then that's a good look at why MT wages are what they are.

MT rates are going down, read some posts on this site - n/m

[ In Reply To ..]
xx

I am getting .12 cpl for a 50-char line BUT - sm - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
it is for a very dinky account, very sporadic, only $5 last month. Dr. retired and asked me to continue to do the odd letter or two for her. I did raise up though from .10 to .12 to do this as she wanted me to provide a call-in system for her, which I did not have but do now, as well as print the letters and mail them for her. I got the call-in for free but offset my time for printing and mailing with the increase which she was fine with. I quote .10/65-char line when asked, which so far where I live is considered too high believe it or not, but I will not go lower for my own accounts.

Not high at all depending on where you live - No name

[ In Reply To ..]