A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Is is really possible to transcribe 200 lpm with over 98% accuracy? - anon

Posted: Jul 14, 2012

yeah... easily - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I transcribe about 230-250 lph at 99% or above accuracy and edit about 290 or so at the same accuracy.

Why are you asking?

Yes, also easily. In case it's applicable, I'm not doing data entry - in addition to editing, though. NM

[ In Reply To ..]
x

Yes, I have...SM - Old Anon

[ In Reply To ..]
but I have 35+ years of experience with a well populated expander program. Keep in mind, though, this is straight transcription. My last 2 quality audits were 100% and 99.6. On SR, I usually average between 300 and 350 with the same caliber accuracy scores. I am not the fastest typist in the world, so someone who is can probaby average more lines.

I need some help on this. - JW

[ In Reply To ..]
Give me some tips as to how you do this? I can't keep my mind on what I am typing and proof at the same time. I use a lot of macros too!! I would really be interested in what you do to get the accuracy and the lines.

my favorite tip - do not flame me

[ In Reply To ..]
it's so basic and simple, please don't flame me, but it's so easy to forget to speed up the playback when you have someone hemming and hawing. When I get someone like that I get so distracted, next thing you know I'm looking at Facebook or something, so try to remember to speed up the slowpokes.
My own favorite tip is to set a LMH goal just above - your fastest and go for it. Then
[ In Reply To ..]
do that again. You can't do that and peek at Facebook, or in my case A book, too.

Yes, it definitely is if you mean 200 lines per hour (lph) - Cathy

[ In Reply To ..]