A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

STAT-Copy Technologies - unhappy MT

Posted: Oct 28, 2011

OK, I know that probably nobody on here has heard of Stat-Copy Technologies out of Texas, because it is a small company, but I have to warn people anyway.  The wage dispute person from MT Stars cannot help me because I am an independent contractor.  This company now owes me over $2500 for work that I did in July and August.  The last time she paid me was on Oct 10, for a check that I should have had on Aug 15 -- 2 months late.  I have sent repeated e-mails asking when I will get paid.  She gives me a date, but usually does not follow through on that date, and almost every other time I send her an e-mail it is ignored.  I'm in Indiana, so the attorney I talked to said it would be probably too expensive to hire an attorney.  Instead, I have called the small claims court to see if I can file a claim from here.  I'm so upset!  I've worked with her on and off since 2003, and I don't understand what is going on, and she won't communicate with me, except to tell me her sister died (a month ago).  I understand that, but still she DOES have a company to run and people to pay!  ARGH!

Yes, small claims is the way to go... - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I have that same situation - I'm in NV and the client is in MI. Owes me $3,000 for a month's work, never paid. Michigan small claims has an option to do everything by mail and telephone conference, so I don't have to spend even more money/time going to their court. You may want to see if TX has that same offer? I'm so sick of these people! This company was a State of Michigan Competency Eval business for the courts and had that contract for 6 years! She went through a divorce, but too bad - I typed the work and I KNOW she got paid!

Time to start slamming these companies in court and getting our money! I've done it before and I'm doing it again.