A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Looking to get started - Dawn

Posted: Jun 06, 2012

I am looking to get started as a transcriptionist. What do I need to know? I have an associates degree (Liberal Arts). I can type pretty fast, and am pretty good at spelling. I am looking for advice on where I should start, or how to start being a transcriptionst.

Thank you in advance for your information and advice.

Dawn

as long as you can type - no problems

[ In Reply To ..]
Liberal Arts... I am sure that you are already qualified! Just apply at the companies, take a few tests, and tell them that you can type pretty fast and you are pretty good at spelling!

Easy enough.

Medical terminology courses would - mmmt

[ In Reply To ..]
be a good thing to take.

No problems - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]
I sincerely hope you are joking and that this is a silly post. If you are serious, it is the worst advice I have ever seen anyone give.

I think the poster was being sarcastic, not serious - nm

[ In Reply To ..]

actually... - that is how I started

[ In Reply To ..]
If you have a good vocabulary and a good ear, you can actually do very well without taking a single medical terminology class. I did!
Me too! - nm
[ In Reply To ..]
23 years later...
Not if you can't find a job! nm - Maggie May
[ In Reply To ..]
x
Start In House - shortie
[ In Reply To ..]
It amazes me at all the sarcasm and rude comments on here by other MTs. Is there really a need for that? Oh, yeah . . . you all know it all.