A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Just getting started... education?? - NatKay

Posted: Jun 17, 2011

Hello All!

I have recently decided to begin a career in MT, and am trying to weigh my education options.

I have a bachelor's degree in Hearing, Speech & Language Sciences, so I'm great with interpreting speech/language and am also pretty good at deciphering English as a second language. I've also worked for a hospital scheduling outpatient testing for the past three years, so I have a bit of a background in medical terminology (still so much to learn!) and the inner workings of physcian's offices and hospitals. I'm also a really great typist (80-90wpm with great accuracy).

So, I'm weighing my options as far as education goes... While I don't want to settle for a sub par education, I do want to get started and finish as quickly as possible, (dreadfully unhappy at my current job) while still learning/retaining all of the necessary info. I'm also still working full time, so I'm going to need something that is self-paced. One program I've come across is www.futuremt.com . While it is not an accredited course, the website explains why, and that it is in good standing with the BBB (so I don't think it's a ripoff). The course seems to have a lot to offer, including mentorship and job placement assistance. Do employers put a lot of emphasis on graduating from an *accredited* course? Also, anybody have any experience (or know anyone who has) with the FutureMT course?

Any insight and/or words of wisdom anyone has to offer is very much appreciated. :)

Thanks in advance!!

Research companies that are mentioned on this board - mt

[ In Reply To ..]