A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Are posts on MT school forums all legitimate? - luvzminis

Posted: May 06, 2010

This might be a foolish question, but are all the posts on MT school forums for real?  I won't mention the school, but it seems that after several complaints about MT work, there's a sudden rush of "look how much money I'm making" posts.  Seems a little too good to be true.  Are there really people out there pulling in some good funds, or is this more like advertising for the school/MT industry?

Probably advertising. I think most MTs make - sm -

[ In Reply To ..]
less than 30K. I have been doing it for 8 years now, make about 20K working full-time. Granted a lot depends on your job, pay, accounts, etc. If you can land some good work with lots of macros you can make good money, but everything has to fall into place. I have one account that gives me 25 lines a report w/o even trying usually....have a normal for his ROS and PE that he uses almost every time that will give me 25 lines w/o typing a letter, the rest is straight typing though. I have a friend who had a great account, her bread and butter, all macros, very little actual typing as she had put much of it in her expander, etc. She recently lost the account to EMR unfortunately. --- But those ads and newbies saying they make $40K+ are really full of it.

What MT school forums are you talking about - Linda Andrews

[ In Reply To ..]
Now you have me curious. Would you let me know either here or by e-mail if you don't mind? Thanks!

Before I get an answer on that, another comment - Linda Andrews

[ In Reply To ..]
It sounds like people on some school forum are saying that new graduates are making certain amounts, that seem a little inflated, and you are wondering if they are legitimate. I have no idea what school(s) or students, so I'll answer blindly.