A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Accredited and Reputable Transcription Schools... - Forever Typing

Posted: Apr 02, 2011

What is the best Online MT school?  I am currently doing alot of research on schools for MT and am finding that there are TONS of options and I am getting confused as to what is an isn't important.  I've been told to check accreditation on both the ahdionline.org website and the chea.org.  However, not all schools are listed on both sites... This may be a silly question, but does anyone have a certain school that they recommend?  Currently I have a Bachelors of Science from Univ. of Maryland in Social Science that I graduated with last May. I am hoping to possibly transfer/test out of some of the required course work, but still receive the best training possible that will prepare me for work as an MT.  I would greatly appreciate all the help and advice that anyone can give me.

Best Schools - All Ears - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
You'll read it here over and over:

Andrews
M-Tech
CareerStep

An MT course is not anything like a 4-year degree. You don't get to test out of anything, as far as I know. Learning medical terminology from a transcription end is totally different than learning it for another purpose, IMO.

I went to Andrews. I can't say enough about the training, it is truly excellent. Having their name on your resume will get you work, it is worth the money. I graduated at the end of October 2010, started applying for jobs, and had one in just 3 weeks. I received at least 6 job offers after I started working. I am now working somewhere different than when I started and I still get nibbles on those resumes that went out in November. Good luck!

Read a few posts down. This question has been asked - and answered all up and down this board.

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Forever Typing - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]