A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Transam Assoc. & my so-called accredited school - Mouse

Posted: Sep 16, 2010

I have been reading through this site about good schools and also I found that there was information about Transam Associates.  As far as schools go, I graduated from Allied School of Medical and was told that they had companies lined up for their new grads because their program was so good!  They would assist you in finding a job and blah, blah, blah.  Only $2,970 and you can pay over a year or get funding.  They were accredited.  Well, within a month or so, my finances went down, down, down, so I went online to find a federal grant that could help me with school.  When I called the school to get their accreditation number, I was told that they are NOT accredited for federal grants, but they are accredited!  The training I felt was ambiguous at best.  One practice transcription would have commas placed at every single preposition phrase and the next one would literally have no commas!  The grammar rules changed from transcription to transcription.  My final was the last straw with these people.  Throughout the entire 18 chapters with roughly 10-15 transcriptions per chapter, if the dictator said the name, etc. not allowed under HIPPA and would be scrubbed from the dictation, you would simply change to "the doctor" or "the patient."  On the final, which was a consultation note compiling 5-6 different doctor's reports, when the dictator stated the patient's name or the doctor's name (which was scrubbed), we were supposed to put underlined spaces to represent the missing names!  In no other place throughout the entire course were we supposed to put underlined spaces for this.  We were simply to change to "the doctor" or "the patient."  I did not pass this test because of this stupid change in rules!  These were the only errors I made, but, of course, this made 9 errors on a 3-page report.  I would absolutely N