A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

What happens to reports with all the blanks in them? Are they filled in by hand? . - mrs.krabs

Posted: Apr 02, 2010

Do they actually go into the chart like that?  I'm sure nobody retypes the reports with the corrections in them, so how does that pass the Joint Commission's inspection?

About 90% of the ones I used to send to QA - anonymous

[ In Reply To ..]
went on to the client with a blank. I don't know that the hospitals are really noticing much difference.

QA Can't fill in blanks either 90% of the time - amd

[ In Reply To ..]
The hospitals won't notice anything. QA can't find the words either when the doctors can't speak right or it is cut off or it is bad audio quality. I had a CCM tell me that only 20% chance that a QA person could find the word if I can't find it. I have 25 years experience. I think it is more like a 5 to 10% chance.

So are they filed in the charts with the blanks in the document? - mrs.krabs

[ In Reply To ..]
I want to know what the end product looks like. I get MQ cutting out QA. I have 25 years in the biz too. I think QA had 1% chance of hearing "something" or making up something to put in the blanks. But, what about the newbies who don't have our experience and leave multiple decipherable blanks, i.e. audible medical terminology, not just ESL crap. Who is filling this in as MQ doesn't have QA to help them out? It has to make MQ look bad for not correcting those types of blanks.

Similar Messages:

Blanks In Reports
Sep 29, 2014

Anybody else receiving "counselling" for leaving blanks.  Received e-mail stating some of my reports were pulled and they wanted to go over my blanks.  If I can't hear them or understand them, I don't guess and leave a blank.  Dreading this one.  Seems you can't win for losing.  How do some of you handle the blank situation? ...

Anyone Know If The Reports We Pend For Blanks
Jan 19, 2015