A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Social Security taxes - Zoe

Posted: Jan 11, 2011

This is my first year to work solely as an IC.  I have been sending quarterly taxes in to the IRS using the form 1040 payment vouchers they supplied.  It has just occurred to me that I don't know if any of the money I am sending in is going to Social Security tax.  I am not sure how it is allocated.  I send in 25-30% of my earnings.  Can anyone with more knowledge about this help me understand?  Thanks so much! 

taxes - hi

[ In Reply To ..]
You are taxed a flat rate for self-employment taxes and this covers social security. Since you are paying quarterly taxes, you should be fine. If you have anything left (HA), you can put a percentage of your yearly earnings in a SEP account (Self-employment pension) and this helps reduce your taxes also. Better to pay yourself than Uncle Sam, although you can't touch it until retirement.

Similar Messages:

Anyone Who Has Applied For Social Security Or UE. Sm
Dec 27, 2012

Did you list Nuance as your employer or AlphaStaff or ADP? Confusing for me. Waiting for HR to reply, but I need to know soon.  It's like pulling teeth to get information from this company.  ...

Early Social Security
Jun 29, 2013

How do you go about getting early SS??  How early can you get it.  I am in my 50's so is that too early?  I remember my mom did that but she was older and she still worked 3 days a week and as long as she kept under a certain amount she was allowed to do both. ...

I'm Out Of The MT Market... I Filed For Social Security Today
Nov 02, 2009