A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Filing for early Social Security/Working Part-time - BabyBoomerMT

Posted: Apr 07, 2012

Anyone here working part-time and receiving early Social Security benefits? I am considering doing this in the next year and wondering if anyone else is already doing so. Thoughts?  I've been working full-time since the age of 18 years and part-time before that, with only a 6-month period of time between jobs, but was collecting severance pay those 6 months. So, I really feel I deserve to get back some of the money I've put into Social Security over the last 4-1/2 decades.  My body cannot take sitting at a computer 8 plus hours a day any longer.

Early SS - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I have cut my hours and will start receiving my Social Security in June - I turn 62 in April. I sure hope its a good move. I have decided to do this because life is short and I want to do a few things before I can't any longer. Many people have said that its the way to go. My husband is retired now so we are probably going to live life a little bit. We can't afford to travel much but a few day trips will be nice. I want to continue working some for as long as I can just to keep busy and bring in a few extra bucks. Hope all goes well for you.

SS and PT work - also boomer

[ In Reply To ..]
I also have been trying to figure this possible solution out and it is not easy. I have called the SS# twice and gotten difficult to understand information, possibly contradictory. The SS web site has a thorough explantation of how this is supposed to work, much of which I printed. I am probably going to make the leap myself soon. Although I am under full retirement age, I figure the current low wages in our field will keep me qualified and not making too much $. Would appreciate any other input from others who have tried this solution to our outsourced occupation. Good luck!

SS and PT work - sm

[ In Reply To ..]