A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

One Transcription on the job postings board - They want a drug screen??? sm

Posted: Jun 04, 2014

That has got to be a typo or someone used canned text cut and pasted into an ad that they forgot to edit.

I'd hate to work for a manager that sloppy and disorganized or just plain careless about how they compose a hiring post.   Does not look good at all.  

Drug screen - Another MT

[ In Reply To ..]
The company I work for does drug screens and background checks before hiring. I can't tell you how many transcriptionists I could not hire because they failed the drug test.

What's wrong with wanting our MTs to not be high while working?

Just because you work from home you don't think you need to have a background check or drug screen?

If so, then you could not work for my company.

I have no problem with background check. I am wondering why now - all of a sudden MTSOs SM

[ In Reply To ..]
want drug screens run. Things have been going along fine, so what's the big deal about requiring drug screens now?

And I wouldn't be paying for it. The company wants me, they can pay for it. I have nothing to hide but I don't see why I have to pay to prove my own innocence. My work speaks for itself, there's no drug use to affect my quality.

There's probably hundreds of MTs using casual recreational drugs during the day and I don't think any of them have killed a patient yet.

What makes you think they are high while working. Many use pot like - many use wine. A way of SM

[ In Reply To ..]
relaxing, often just on the weekends, when not working at all. Or even if it is a couple of hits after work, how is that any different than those that get plastered after work, except those I know that pot for relaxation, never get plastered.

Personally, I don't like getting drunk and I don't like being what many would consider high. But I will have a couple of hits of pot or a glass of wine, just to unwind.