A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

40-hour week definition - MT

Posted: Nov 09, 2010

I work in the medical transcription industry. My employer is in TN.  We are required to work 40 hours per week, and we are paid on the basis of lines of dictation we transcribe per day.  Many days there is not enough work during a shift (a shift given us by our employer) to complete our 8 hours of work.  This means that in order to comply with company request, we have to work 2 to 3 hours at night to complete our 40 hours, even though we have sat at our desks and continually checked to see if there is work in the hospital systems.  If not, our platform times us out after about 10 minutes.  This way we are working, on hold checking for work, but we are always informed that we must continue to work until we have 8 hours for a day. In some cases, this could take an extra 4 hours of work outside our shift to complete this request.  Is this legal?  Thanks for your time.

Probably not but (sm) - Long time MT

[ In Reply To ..]
Unless you report them to the Federal Wage and Hour Board, who will investigate, they will keep getting away with this sort of thing. The MT companies only get away with what we LET them get away with.

I was in that situation for months on end. - See Message

[ In Reply To ..]