A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

$10 an hour - anon

Posted: Sep 24, 2010

I need to find a job that averages more than $10 an hour. I have 20 years' experience in med trans and am a fast typist, but with the slow platforms and the constant "breakdowns" and being out of work, I am only averaging $10 an hour. Another problem is my line counts have dropped from 250 per hour to around 100 and cannot figure out why.  Any ideas?  Thanks

I don't have any ideas for you but wanted to offer support. sm - RoadRunnerMT

[ In Reply To ..]
I am right there with you. For some reason, I can't seem to get above the average of $10/hr and 100 lines per hour. I have 16 years experience but VR is cut throating me. I guess I am too much of a perfectionist as I review every detail. I cannot make myself zoom through quickly to boost pay and miss mistakes.

Im slowed down, too. A combo of software, the worst - dictators, demographics, and NJA.

[ In Reply To ..]

Couldn't resist some math on that production, RoadRunnerMT. - Anon.

[ In Reply To ..]
Let's see: Assuming a modest but reasonable VR production of 250 LPH, a line rate of $0.10/line (is that right for editing?), and ignoring any available production incentives:

You could make: 250 x $0.10 = $25/hr
You are making: $10/hr

You could make 2000 x $25 = $50K/year
You are making 2000 x $10 = $20K/year
(again, excluding bonus pay)

Are you SURE that your pleasure in that degree of perfection is worth $30K+ each year to you? You did say something about something cutting your throat.

Anon, from what you said, I think if you do your own math you'll agree the best advice you can get is to get out of there fast. That possible "missing" income should be tracked down and recovered, of course, but I personally wouldn't invest a single extra day at that company in just that. Others are making a living at other companies. Go get the job you need and deserve. Good luck.