A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Dear Skilled Editor and VR Trainer - ??

Posted: Sep 16, 2010

Skilled: I've read everything you posted and thanks for the response.

Okay, I'm not a genius but I'm not totally stupid either, and I feel like if there are MT's out there that are editing and have increased their line counts and are able to earn more money, then I can too. I am a high producer transcribing. As I said before, I am now editing at just about the same lines per hour that I typed.

Here's my system, so far, that I've developed: I reprogrammed my keyboard to allow my fingers to stay on home row keys for navigating through the document, which has helped me tremendously. I have Shorthand as my expander and I also use Autohotkeys (I do NOT have a handle on that program yet!). I have macros set up for some docs, mostly things for the exam. I do have things set up for short phrases or a few words like sd for she does, hi for he is, tps for the patient states, etc. I have recorded keystrokes that delete periods and inserts commas, I have it set up so that if I type dsr it will delete 6 words to the right of my cursor, etc. All of that has helped me get to where I can edit about 300 lph. Not good enough. At all.

The places where I find I am struggling is, for one, most of my editing seems to be in the HPI and plan. The places where there are long paragraphs of text and in a majority of sentences there will be small errors like she instead of he, or the patient's name is wrong, a left out and or the or it.  These are taking me forever and the errors I find most, that are most time consuming, don't seem to be anything I can really make a quick fix for because in one report for Dr. A it could wrong and the next report for Dr. A it could be right but then a different error of sorts. Do you know what I mean?