A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

My Nuance Story - mtgal1963

Posted: Apr 29, 2012

I'm not on here to bash Nuance.  I am here to tell my story ...... you take from it what you want.

I have been doing MT work for 8 years.  I have worked for several national companies.  I was EXTREMELY happy with my job and then Nuance came along and swallowed up our little transcription service just like it has done to so many others.  It was not all bad .........but most of it was. 

Nuance, to be fair, does offer 401K, medical benefits, and PTO, even to their part-time MTs.  However, my pay has dropped dramatically since they took my company over.  I used to qualify for the QA incentive, even as a part timer, but they just restructured that to where you have to exceed full time line requirements to be eligible.........that's a little tough to do on a part-time basis.  They pretty much shut the part-timers out of the QA incentive completely.  They keep saying they are "working" on putting an incentive in place for part timers but I have yet to see it or hear anything promising about it. 

I love their Escription program.  As speech programs go, it is by far the best I have used.  With that said, however, it does not give me magic powers to type 500 lph like Nuance brags about in all their demonstrations.  Yes, it is a great program.  Yes, as it gets "trained" the documents come out cleaner and cleaner with less editing required and maybe some day I can type significantly more lines but for the forseeable future, that is NOT the case.  This equates to a huge pay cut for me for quite some time.  Plus I lost my QA incentive.  I have taken an IC job part-time (traditional transcription, no speech) to supplement what I have lost since Nuance took over.