A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Recently Graduated from MT School, Can't find a Job! - OptimisticMT

Posted: Feb 14, 2010

I have recently graduated with a certificate in Medical Transcription and am finding it difficult to find a job! I am a Respiratory Therapist full-time and just want something part-time at home for extra income and to gain experience to hopefully do transcription as a full-time career.  Can anyone give me any advice on how to go about finding employment?  I have put my application in for several jobs but my lack of experience has been a problem. I think that maybe I am just looking in the wrong places! :)

Thank you in advance,

OptimisticMT

jobs - not enough

[ In Reply To ..]
I have 35+ years experience and not getting enough work to get me any line count or a pay check, and even I am having problems finding a different job. This profession is not like it used to be and the jobs are being outsourced, offshored, and replaced by EMR. Stick with your RT and hopefully that is enough to give you a nice income, as I have a sole income with being an MT and at 57 this profession will probably not be enough to keep me going until I can retire. My income for 2009 was over 12K less than 2008 and almost 25K less than 2005. Made more money in 1980 at $13 an hour.

Try contacting the medical records at the hospital where you do RT and see if you can get your foot in the door by doing some per diem work there. That would be a good place to start as they would be able to be close if you have any questions. Kinda hard to start out at home right out of school.

Do you know of anything that didn't pay less last year? - Sincere question about job losses

[ In Reply To ..]
When I think of all of my family members and friends, I'm not seeing people in any career field who are doing well right now.

Website designers - dime a dozen - no jobs

Graphic designers - same. Lots of them. No jobs.

Homebuilders - Not good.