A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Graduated have not taken my CPC or CCS exam yet - Anonymous

Posted: Jan 01, 2013

Hello everyone. I graduated last Sept with my coding degree and intend to take my CPC or CCS certification test or possibly both eventually. I am wondering if anyone who is currently coding has been able to had a hard time finding their 1st position out of school ? My school was not helpful when it came to career services and the hospital where I interned was too small to hire me after graduation. I have applied to some of my local hospitals only to be told you have to have minimum of 2 years experience and the certification (either CPC or CCS) if no company is willing to give me that 1st chance how am I supposed to get experience ?

I cannot find a job and I have my CCS - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I have my CCS, but every place I have applied to has told me "no" because I don't have experience. I've done job shadowing, volunteering, and now am working in medical records, but I still am unable to land a coding job. I've even applied out of state and to more rural areas but am told they need someone who has experience. It's very frustrating. I am fully aware that there will be a certain poster on this board who will reply to my post telling me it's my fault that I have not landed a coding job. I know several others who are unable to get their first coding job. I'm about to give up and do something else.

Don't give up - me

[ In Reply To ..]