A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Is this profession even worth it? - txgirl

Posted: Nov 19, 2010

I have to say this is my first time to this website and I am deeply discouraged by the forums I have read because it sounds like this line of work is basically dying a slow death. I am currently enrolled in a community college and am about to finish getting my certificate ( I am in my last class which is practice/internship) to become a Medical Transcriptionist but I'm beginning to wonder if it was worth it? I already had fears because of accounts going offshore and EMRs but reading some of the posts just confirms my fears. It sounds like unless your a veteran don't waste your time. The idea of working at home is not realistic anymore (which is why I got into this profession in the first place). Even working in an office doesn't seem to make much more money than someone working without a certificate at any job. It's very frustrating because it took me a while to get through all of these courses only to find out there's really nothing out there anymore. I don't have the time to start over and go back to school for a completely new certificate/degree in something else. Even if I do get a job it sounds like I shouldn't get too comfortable or secure because the first people to go in an office are the transcriptionists when there are budget cuts. I don't mean to be such a downer but it's hard to look on the upside of everything I've been realizing lately. Is it worth getting into coding and billing? Some of the classes I have taken are the same so I would only need about 6 extra classes to do that.

Sorry for the rant. I'm nervous and scared because I used up so much time and money only to find there's no jobs for a newbie. Frown Even the job postings say things like "No newbies" or they want "---- years of experience". Thanks ahead of time for any advice and listening to my rant!

Not worth it - Disappointed