A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Ethics Question about a life-threatening issue posed by teacher - longtail4711

Posted: May 26, 2011

Hello everyone! I'm an MT student who doing a bit of research for one of my classes, and I wanted to ask some real MT's about this one. 

My teacher posed to us this question: 

"What if you were privy to information in the same setting of transcribing 2 different clinics who apparently have a shared client, and you found out something about the patient that you perceived as seriously potentially life threatening?  What if there was a medication prescribed in one context that was dramatically contraindicated in the other scenario?  I’m not talking about situations that might impact anyone else other than this individual, but something about that WOULD create a potential-harm setting for this one person, who apparently is not fully “disclosive” (yes, made up word) with their physicians."

The obvious answer would be to go to my supervisor, but I'm interested what those of you who are independent contractors and owners of your own transcription businesses would do. Do you notify your clients about this? If so, how do you do it without getting in trouble with HIPAA? 

Thank you, I appreciate your time! 

*edited: The teacher says that you really think this IS a life-threatening issue and not just a potential one. 

Ethics question - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]
Since I am neither an attorney nor a physician, but a medical transcriptionist, I would mind my own business and do my job within the constraints as prescribed by HIPAA. In American law, the attending physician is what is known in courts as "the Captain of the Ship." I would leave such discoveries (and liabilities) to him or her.

I agree.....sm - Tiny

[ In Reply To ..]